femmanism

My name is Emma. This is my feminism.

Yes, I Am A Slut – Clementine Cannibal

on April 27, 2012

Someone on my Facebook posted an amazing video called ‘Yes, I Am a Slut.’  I then followed the link to the author’s blog, and am a little obsessed with it / her right now.  I highly recommend taking a look at it, and I posted the link on the left.  But I am too in love with this video not to post it here for everyone to see.

This is obviously not mainstream, popular media, but one thing that I am loving about the internet, especially social media sites is that everyone has the opportunity to create their own media.  This is hugely important in resisting what mainstream media tells us.  It gives us back a little power.  It reminds me of something one of the women in Miss Representation said about letting her daughter make her own movies, and how it taught her that TV and movies are all just stories being told to her by someone, and she can just as easily tell them stories right back.  This is just as important for adults in our media-saturated world.  It is sometimes easy to forget that our thoughts and voices are just as legitimate as any film makers’ and that we have the right, and even the responsibility, to use them.

I have nothing to add to this video at all.  It is absolutely perfect.  All I have to say is, yes, I am a slut too.

What do you think?

